Direktlänk till inlägg 8 februari 2012

intership at "Ö" by Aleksandra:)

  

Today it was my turn to be an intern at “Ö” and I signed up for the evening shift. I arrived to the Normal delivery ward with Sana at 13.30 We had planned to see some parts of the hospital that we missed during our last visit.  At 14.00 Sana had to leave and my shift started.

When Marianne gave me the characteristic blue clothes and a pager, I felt like I was a part of the team. I was very moved and enthusiastic about by my role. By following Marianne and other midwives closely I was tracking their work. The staff knew why I was there and was very helpful and welcoming. I even got permission to assist in a couple of deliveries. On my shift I was present during three deliveries;
all of them were different and unique.


At 15.00 Marianne got a new patient so we went to introduce ourselves. The Mother to be was in a lot of pain quite far in her delivery, so the whole thing proceeded pretty fast. I was amazed by Marianne
and how she in a small amount of time was able to make real connection with the patient. Her voice was calm and warm and the women easily put their trust in her and feel that they were in a good hand. After checking the condition of the patient we went to prepare some drinks for our new gests and also to bring all important equipment needed during delivery. Up until that time I hadn’t realized that the midwifes (due to poor planning) have to do a crazy amount walking/ running around the ward. Sometimes just for picking up equipment/ medicines or towels for the baby. One could compare it with a hard working out
session at the gym. I asked Marianne if the staff felt exhausted but she answered me with a smile “I know that it is pretty extensive but sometimes it is good to be able to stretch your body and have the possibility to take walk”
Another delivery started and even this was a quick one. This time I even got to help the care givers by supporting the patient, holding her leg through contractions. It is hard to describe what I felt. It wasn’t as scary as I though, I was more exited and surprised. I was carefully observing the whole process, watching people in the room movie around and registering their reactions. The patients belonging like clothes etc. lying on the floor was from time to time disturbing Marianne and other midwives to work. There was no planned space for them. After exhausting time and “fight” finaly the baby was present on this world. This was like a magic moment that I will never forget. When mother saw her lovely baby girl the whole pain did not exist anymore. It looks like from now on was only those two and surrounding situation was gone.

Before going home I ask Marianne what she is thought about her job. The answer was ”I love my job and I would never change it for other one. Where else you could be able to see each every day those miracle when such a lovely small babies are coming on this world. For me it is a best job and I
couldn’t imagine me somewhere else”. I hope that me and Sana find a better solutions for the building and facilities. We should really think about the midwives, there body and create opportunity for them to take a walk in a nicer environment then a dark, institutional corridor.


At 20.30 I left the door of hospital, I went home with a lot of positive thoughts in my mind, ready to work!

   





 
 
Ingen bild

Bettan

10 februari 2012 08:58

As we often say it is good for women not to lay down to early during delivery, he should be up walking, moving. But when we place the bed in the center of the room it is a signal that "now you are a patient and patients lay in beds",. Of course there must be a bed but I think it is important to have more than one armchair to make it clear that you are don´t have to lay down ta once.

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Welcome to VITA NOVA! Please sit down and wait here.           This is a multi- functional client room. This is your zone, you will not have to move between wards. The functions of delivery, checkup, postpartum, and minor Neo-Natal ca...

                                     

To make the design flexible we are working with a 3m grid structure. The grid is build of cubes (modules) with fixed dimentions (6x6m). There are 3 different types of module in the grid; transparent, semi- transparent and solid. The transparent modul...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards